Skip to main content
Gippsland Family Violence Alliance
Courses Filter
Sort by

The area which is now called Gippsland has a long and rich history, that begins with the traditional custodian’s of the land’s which are the:

  • Gunai/Kurnai
  • Bunurong
  • Bidewell
  • Ngarigo/Monero communities

The Gippsland region is located in the south-east of Victoria. It extends from the edge of Melbourne’s metropolitan region in the region’s west, eastwards to the New South Wales border, with the northern boundary formed by the edge of alpine country, with the coastline and Wilsons Promontory comprising its southern border. Gippsland includes the Bass Coast, Baw Baw, East Gippsland, South Gippsland, Wellington Shire Councils and Latrobe City Council. Gippsland includes regional and rural areas and is the only region in Victoria that is classified as having remote areas.

Click on the map to find out more statistical information about the local government areas

Visit our Council website to learn more about what it's like to live, work and visit our communities: